top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrandy Jade

Cortisol, Cushing's, and Curls

If you have curly hair, you already know the struggle to keep it healthy and luscious is real. Trust me when I say I've been through my fair share of experimenting with different products and methods for curly hair care. Now that life has thrown this curveball of Cushing's at me, I have to take extra care of my hair to prevent it from breaking off.


It doesn't matter how many growth oils, scalp massages, or protective hairstyles I use, my hair will not grow because of my high cortisol levels. Not only is my hair not growing, but it keeps breaking off, and it also is thinning at my scalp. SO. What's a woman to do?! Here is my list of products and tools that I am using in attempts to preserve my hair:


Brush:

Felicia Leatherwood Detangler Brush ($18.99 Amazon)




Grace Eleyae Slap Cap ($24.00)

This is the ultimate bonnet / beanie lookin cap thang. I love this piece because it is lined with satin to help reduce frizz! You can wear this to bed or when you go out, it's stylish while protective, and the quality of the material is outstanding. This is definitely something to invest in if you're looking for cute hair protection.


Shampoo / Conditioner

Shampoo: Carol's Daughter Wash Day Delight Shampoo ($10.99 Target)

I use this every other week since it is a clarifying shampoo so this really strips the natural oils off your scalp/hair REAL good. Honestly, I'm still not 100% sure on how I feel about this shampoo but it does it's thang.



Conditioner: Renpure Biotin & Collagen Conditioner ($8.99 Target)

I use this baby every day. I like it because: the consistency gives that "slip" that curls love, it's cheap, it's pretty moisturizing, and it contains Biotin & Collagen which has thickening & strengthening properties. (WE NEED THAT, OKURRR). The smell isn't overpowering which is great because I like for my styling products to carry the lovely scents anyway.



Olaplex No. 3 / No. 4 / No. 5 ($28 Each)

Hear me out. I know this stuff is expensive, but if you use it strategically, it'll be worth the money. I use the Olaplex shampoo every other week (alternating with Carol's Daughter) and I will use the conditioner mixed with one of my favorite leave-in conditioners for a treatment. (#SaveThatMONEY!) As for the Hair Perfecter (No. 3) I use this as a leave-in base for my hair. I know it says to rinse it out, but my lovely hairstylist suggested that I use it as a leave in. (SHE IS THE G.O.A.T!). Not only does it work better as a leave-in, *cough* I'm not about to spend $28 on a 3.3 fl/oz bottle just to wash it out after 30 minutes. You cute, Olaplex. You cute.

The reason I recommend Olaplex is because it is one of the only products on the market (that I know of, at least) that actually repairs the broken bonds in your hair strands. This helps with breakage!!


Hair Masques (Max $12.99 Target)

These three are my favorite hair masques, but right now I am currently using the Jamaican Black Castor Oil strengthen and restore treatment (first one). I use this once a week on wash day.


Styling Product (One of many, but my go-to right now):

Miss Jessie's Pillow Soft Curls ($22 Target)

This stuff is kind of like a miracle in a tube. It's a one and done type of product which is why I like it. Having Cushing's Disease drains your energy so it's nice to just plop some of this in your hair and call it a day. I will say, this stuff kind of smells like laundry detergent... but hey, at least you'll smell clean. I also like this product because if I put enough, it will weigh down my hair (it will only weigh down your hair if you go heavy with it). Since Cushing's, my hair has gotten so much curlier. I thought the shrinkage was real before.. Let. Me. Tell. You. My hair shrinks to my shoulders when it's actually to my waist. Right now, I actually prefer length over curls, but that's just me.


Hair Oils

Jamaican Black Castor Oil ($8.99 Target)

Jamaican black castor oil is known for it's hair growth properties, so BET that I have a bottle of this. This doesn't really help with hair growth at the moment, because my hair growth is stunted by my cortisol levels, but, wishful thinking I guess.

Preserving Hairstyles

Buns, Braids, Bonnets. K bye.

...stay tuned for an actual post on this...


With Heart,

B

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Weight.

Have you ever just wanted to tear off all the fat on your body? Like you're so tired of looking at it that you think of violent ways of just getting it off your bones. Burning it. Freezing it. Scrapin

bottom of page